Time and energy.

The road ahead.

I don’t have much time to post today, but I figured it would be a good time to make a quick announcement and share a little story.

Announcement:

From now on, every blog post post will have a picture and a song to go along with it. Usually the picture will be at the top and the song will be on the bottom.

Little story:

In my freshman year of high school, my friend and I were playing with a superball during lunch break, bouncing it off the walls of various buildings, and throwing it back and forth between each other. At one point the ball ricocheted off the wall and bounced towards me, but I missed it and it rolled away behind me. I turned around to go get it, but then I noticed that the ground we were standing on was very slightly inclined, such that the ball inevitably stopped rolling and reversed direction towards me. Realizing that the ball would get to me eventually, I stood there and watched it roll towards me. I hear my friend ask me from behind why I wasn’t getting the ball.  He said I was wasting time. I told him, we have plenty of time, so I might as well conserve energy. I reflected on my words for a moment, and turned around and looked him in the eye. The impact of my mistake hit me. I ran back towards the ball, picked it up, and tossed it back at him.

Our resources are staggering. I have access to almost any information I could possibly want, through the power of the internet. I have access to any food or drink that I like, or that I feel would sustain me best. I attend the best public university in the world. I’m young, fit, intelligent, and extremely capable. But none of this will change the fact that I will die. My potential has no limits other than time. That is a limit to be well respected. I waste far more time than I would like. My advice to you: don’t waste time. It’s the most important thing you will ever have. The road is ahead of you, but you have to drive.

    • David
    • November 20th, 2011

    This video is also similar, even if I don’t agree with every single specific piece of advice: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfq_A8nXMsQ

    What I do agree with, what I do think I’ll find true in this video of mine are things that I find incredibly powerful because of their simple yet incredible relevance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

