Funerals and socks.

I have a big and important blog post coming up, but I didn’t want to write it tonight because I’m tired and not thinking well. So, in the meantime, I’m going to discuss some lighter topics.

Sometimes I think about the world that I live in and wish that it were different, such that certain things would be socially acceptable that currently are not. I will discuss two cases where I’ve thought about this.

The first was inspired by my dear sister Erin, and a conversation that sparked between her and the rest of my family at dinner during winter break. My mother asked her if she was wearing mismatched socks that day – Erin confirmed that she was. Mom presumed that this was because the laundry had not been done, or else that Erin had simply lost some socks. In reality, Erin was just too lazy to match socks, and often paired two random socks together, with the provision that “they both have the same texture.”

This seemed strange to the rest of my family, but it got me thinking. After a few minutes I thoroughly convinced myself that almost all socks should be sold individually. I thought to myself, In a world where socks are sold individually, everything is much more interesting and efficient. When a sock goes missing, there is no unmatched sock that also goes to waste. When putting away laundry, there is no need to map each sock to its counterpart. When choosing an outfit, one can choose any combination of socks, and this can make the look much more interesting. You have more flexibility in the quantity and characteristics of socks you buy at any given time. Socks can tell twice as many stories as they are able to do in a world where all socks come in pairs. Socks can still be sold in pairs – notably socks with special properties, like athletic socks or business socks. However, most socks that I wear are just random socks to keep my feet protected, and I see no problem with having different looking socks on both feet as long as they are comfortable. Overall I believe that this would streamline many activities such as doing laundry and buying clothing, as well as open up new possibilities for interesting socks which can lead to cool stories and gift ideas. Think about it.

This next idea was completely random and I’m not sure why I was thinking about it in the first place. Here goes. There comes a time in all of our lives when it pleases us to imagine how others would react if we died. Perhaps you think about it in the shower, or as you lie in bed at night – you’ll picture yourself having died in some freak accident, say a car accident, and the imaginary ghost of yourself observes your friends and family to see who really cared about you. You would go and visit your own funeral to see who would show up and what they would say. You would hope that everyone would finally appreciate you and acknowledge all of the good things about you, the things that they loved, that they didn’t care to say while you were alive because they took it for granted. Some people want to know what would happen so badly that they entertain the idea of faking their own death, just to see how people would react to it. I doubt anyone I know would really go that far, but it’s nonetheless interesting that anyone would even consider this. It is clear that we as humans, generally speaking, care very much about what other people truly think of us, and we yearn to match what we believe about how we are perceived by others with their actual perceptions, which are ideally revealed in some way once we die.

So, now for the crazy social experiment idea of the day: Mock funerals. Take your standard group of friends, and pretend that one of them has died. Lay them down and make them close their eyes, and put them under a table that’s masquerading as a casket or something. Then have everyone else make believe as though it were a funeral, and each person can recall fond memories they experienced with the “deceased” friend, discuss the friend’s enjoyable personality quirks, talk about how the friend touched their lives, and everything of that sort. I imagine despite its apparent silliness that it would be rather touching, and especially interesting if everyone were a bit buzzed and could manage to be sincere about it all. The idea of staging something like this seems pretty morbid and weird, but really, wouldn’t you want your friends to know how you really feel about them? It seems even stranger to me that you should only say something important about a person once that person is dead and can no longer hear it. It’s much more useful to tell them while they are still alive, so that they can appreciate it and maybe have a little more self worth.

This mock funeral idea is probably a bit too weird for many people to actually go through with, but I honestly think it’s a decent idea. It certainly has the potential to strengthen friendships. And (this is probably the most important thing I have to say on this topic), even if you never do something like this with any of your friends, strongly consider telling them what they mean to you anyway. Doesn’t really matter when you do it. Maybe when you’re drunk at a party and you feel like texting someone. Or when it’s 3 AM and you can’t sleep and you just want to feel like you’re doing something with your life. Contact a close friend and tell them what you love about them and why it would suck for you if they died. Why not?

    • Steven Davies (Zero)
    • January 21st, 2012

    The socks thing was pretty well written, props. I don’t read blogs for content, only writing quality 😛

      • Steven Davies (Zero)
      • January 21st, 2012

      my emote was most certainly this 😛 (without the nose)

        • Steven Davies (Zero)
        • January 21st, 2012

        -_- its messing with me now. I can’t post three comments in a row.
        anyway, the emote, with a space delimiter
        : P

    • Jenny
    • January 21st, 2012

    i just watched a chinese movie about mock funeral. The main character first got a divorce ceremony where they told each other in front of all guests how much they hated them and how their lives were horrible during the marriage. Then the guy found out he got cancer, so he decided to have his funeral before he dies so he can be part of it.

    letmme see if i can find one with english subs

    • Alex DeLarge
    • January 21st, 2012

    Just buy a shit ton of the same type of socks. Problem solved.

    • David
    • February 15th, 2012

    I can tell you what I think/thought about you whenever you feel like it, and you don’t even have to pretend to die. You can lie down, if you’d like, as it would probably make you more comfortable.

    I think society would be a lot better if there weren’t so many things that were considered awkwardly/uncomfortably honest. I feel like some things should be allowed to say out loud w/o social repercussion.

    • To be fair, I think a lot of supposed social repercussion is imaginary. That is to say, you might not say something because it feels awkward, but if you do say it there might not be any actual repercussions at all, or else the repercussions may be positive or neutral rather than negative. Still, I think the mock-funeral context might make it easier (and more fun!).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

