ASC log 6/28/12: The Third Day

 

We got to swim in a lake!

This morning’s routine was significantly more impressive than the last morning – we were all up at 6:30, and were on the road by 8. I was even able to shower beforehand, since we stayed at a nice RV park that had such amenities. I doubt I will be afforded that opportunity very often.

Today was actually kind of a shitty day, because it was hot and humid as fuck. The past couple days have been pretty nice weather-wise, but today was just awful. We departed from our rest stop in Wyoming and headed for Nebraska, which I might even rank lower than Nevada due to the stupid heat. But I guess that’s not fair because I might have been in Nevada when it was hot too.

Anyways, the drive was pretty uneventful, except for the fact that we were stuck in construction – laden traffic for a few hours. Despite that, we arrived at the exit for our campsite a couple hours earlier than expected.

Unfortunately, we missed the exit, and due to not having data service at the time and failing to map out the route beforehand, I found myself overshooting the exit by 50 miles. Way to go me. I doubled back and we all set up camp together.

We had a really good time at this campsite – despite the heat, this is the best night of the trip so far. We had plenty of time to relax since we arrived ahead of schedule. We played with bubbles, we took a dip in the lake to cool off, we ate some more delicious rice and beans (now with corn and pikniks!).

And then something magical happened. As the sun set over our campsite, the field in which we set up camp began to come alive, as it was engulfed in a conflagration of fireflies. This was the first time I’ve ever seen fireflies before, and it’s one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen in my life. We all stopped for a bit to admire them, although perhaps I admired them a bit too much. I tried to take some pictures, but it was tough to catch them while they were glowing since they flicker so fast – the pictures and video that I do have don’t do the display justice. Trust me. It was really fucking cool.

As the excitement of the fireflies died down, we all congregated in a large tent to play a quick game of Bang. It was here that I discovered that I am terrible at Bang. However, it was my first time playing and I think I will be better at it next time. Around 11 we finished the game and went off to our tents to sleep. Well, for me I came to my tent to write this. I’m not sure I’ll be able to sleep in this heat, but I’ll try. I suppose I’ve endured worse in Hawaii. Also, damn these mosquitos.

With that, my friends, I bid you all a very good night, as I sleep below the stars as well as among them.

 

This song is in honor of the fact that on this day we passed the halfway point of our journey. We’re halfway there.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

